On December 5, 2011, a realignment was officially announced stating that there would now be 4 divisions.

As most of you have heard, the NHL has officially announced a realignment which would separate the 30 teams into 4 divisions. A lot is being said on twitter about people who hate this, are in favor of it, and honestly could care less. I fall into the category of people that doesn’t really care about this. They just grouped the teams differently, not much changes. The Flyers are sticking with the same core group of teams, just being joined by Washington and Carolina. Reportedly, 26 teams were in favor of this realignment, while 4 teams opposed it.

This realignment will be effective starting next season, and the four conferences right now are just known as Conference A, B, C, and D. For those of you who haven’t seen the official layout yet, here it is (original article here):

Conference A
Anaheim Ducks
Calgary Flames
Colorado Avalanche
Edmonton Oilers
Los Angeles Kings
Phoenix Coyotes
San Jose Sharks
Vancouver Canucks
Conference B
Chicago Blackhawks
Columbus Blue Jackets
Dallas Stars
Detroit Red Wings
Minnesota Wild
Nashville Predators
St. Louis Blues
Winnipeg Jets
Conference C
Boston Bruins
Buffalo Sabres
Florida Panthers
Montreal Canadiens
Ottawa Senators
Tampa Bay Lightning
Toronto Maple Leafs


Conference D
Carolina Hurricanes
New Jersey Devils
New York Islanders
New York Rangers
Philadelphia Flyers
Pittsburgh Penguins
Washington Capitals


The first idea that popped into my head when they did this was, “Hey, maybe they’ll use the names of the original four divisons. The Eastern Conference was known as the Campbell Conference and consisted of the Patrick (Flyers were in this one) and the Adam’s divisions. The Western Conference was known as the Wales Conference and consisted of the Norris and Smythe divisions. I think it would be pretty cool if they went back to those names, but for now all we know is A, B, C, and D. Expect to hear more on this realignment in the coming days.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.