NHL Board Of Governors Reaches Agreement On Realignment. *Updated*

Thanks to "TomFulery.com".


The NHL Board of Governors came to a decision on Monday on the new NHL Realignment that will take place starting next season. The voting results was 26-4 in favor of the proposed realignment. The new Realignment will feature a 4 Conference format, 2 Conferences of 8 teams, and 2 Conferences of 7 teams. The West will feature the 2 Conferences of 8 teams while the East will feature the 2 Conferences of 7 teams. The discussions and votes took an hour in Pebble Beach, California.


Teams will play at least 2 times against each team outside their conferences, playing one at home and one on the road. In the 7 team Conferences, we will see each team playing each other 6 times a year. In the 8 team Conferences, we will see each team playing each other 5-6 times a year, that will be a rotating format changing every season.


The playoff format will see the top 4 teams from each Conference make the playoffs. The 1st-place teams would play the 4th-place teams and the 2nd place teams would play the 3rd-place teams in their respective Conferences. In the 3rd round of the playoffs, the Conference champions would play one another with the 2 survivors making it to the finals.


Conference 1: MTL, TOR, OTT, BOS, BUF, FLD, TB

Conference 2: PHI, PIT, NYR, NYI, NJD, WSH, CAR

Conference 3: LAK, ANA, SJS, VAN, CGY, EDM, COL, PHX

Conference 4: DET, CHI, STL, MIN, NSH, CLB, WPG, DAL


*Update* – The Realignment needs approval from both the League and the NHLPA in order to be completed as reported by TSN’s hockey insider Darren Dreger.

Follow me on Twitter, @TheNHLSources.

Email me at “NHLsources@hotmail.ca” for questions.

Leave a Comment

nine − 8 =