North Dakota forward Connor Gaarding scores the 2OT GWG over Ferris State to clinch his team a ticket to the Frozen Four. (Photo by Al Behrman/AP)

Four teams remain standing in the NCAA Division I men’s ice hockey tournament. Boston College, Minnesota, North Dakota, and Union (N.Y.) will meet at the Wells Fargo Center in Philadelphia, PA April 10-12.

Top ranked Minnesota will take on North Dakota in a semifinal match on April 10. The Golden Gophers have had an easy trek to Philly with wins over Robert Morris (7-3) and St. Cloud State (4-0) in the first and second rounds, respectively, in Saint Paul this past weekend.

Meanwhile, the Fighting Sioux punched their Frozen Four ticket as a third seed in their region, defeating Wisconsin 5-2 in the first round and Ferris State 2-1 in double overtime in the second round. Connor Gaarder broke the 1-1 tie at 1:28 of the second overtime. Goaltender Zane Gothberg made 44 saves in the victory.

On the other side of the bracket is the match between Boston College and Union on April 10. The Eagles rolled over first round opponent Denver 6-2. Ian McCoshen broke the 3-3 tie with the eventual game-winner over UMass-Lowell 11:16 into the third period to win the Northeast Regional. Boston College is highlighted by 2013 Team USA World Juniors Championship forward Johnny Gaudreau and goaltender Thatcher Demko.

Union, led by Matt Hatch and Max Novack, defeated Vermont 5-2 in their opening round match, then won 3-1 over Providence in the second round.  Hatch and Novak scored four of the team’s eight goals this tournament.

The winner of their respective matches will play for the national championship April 12.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.