Christopher Pike, The National

The United Arab Emirates remain the only team to have ever won the Gulf Cup Ice Hockey Championships thanks to a 5-0 victory in the finals against, once again, Kuwait.

There wasn’t much debate prior to the tournament as to who would be the two teams competing in the finals. Considering they are the only two teams that compete in at least one official IHF tournament other than the Gulf Cup (UAE plays in two others), it was clear from the start that the two teams would match up again when it counted the most. Like both previous times, the Emirates would be the country who would come out on top, grabbing the seemingly easy victory in front of a mainly Kuwait-based crowd.

In the bronze medal game, fairly new hockey country Qatar was able to grab their first ever medal in an ice hockey tournament. Established in 2012, Qatar only competed in a few exhibition games prior to the tournament, but their only victory in the Gulf Cup this year happened to be the only one that counted significantly.

Follow me on twitter, @StevenEllisNHL.

About The Author

Steven took a different route towards his hockey interests. Starting out as a big Habs fan, he started to gravitate towards the more obscure levels of hockey, such as the low level tournaments in Asia, strange club matches between teams most people in North America can’t pronounce, and even some 3am contests between Bulgaria and New Zealand. Aside from his love for strange hockey events, Steven occasionally acts as a mediocre ball hockey goalie following a failed attempt at making it to the NHL as a fourth line house league grinder. Beyond hockey, Steven is an avid racing fan and loves to chat about NASCAR, F1, Indycar, you name it. Oh, and don’t get him started on music. That is, unless you want the whole history of metal and a guitar lesson. Currently, Steven is a credentialed media member with the Mississauga Steelheads of the OHL, as well as with the Oakville Blades of the OJHL. Steven has also hosted the television show "The Hockey House" on TVCogeco in Ontario, as well as a segment under the same with on LeafsTV in Toronto. Home page:

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.