The IIHF announced today that the World Championships in 2019 and 2020 have been awarded to Slovakia and Switzerland respectively.

As an independent country, Slovakia has only hosted one World Championship when the world’s top teams made their way out to Bratislava and Kosice in 2011. The tournament will once again return to those two cities, eight years after Slovakia’s disappointing 10th place finish at their home tournament. Slovakia was the only host of the tournament, and with all the hype created thanks to the 2015 tournament being in the nearby Czech Republic, it should be a very popular event for the locals. The tournament will begin on May 3rd, 2019, and will run until Sunday, May 17th.

For Switzerland, the country has already hosted the tournament in 1935, 1939, 1953, 1961, 1971, 1990, 1998 and most recently in 2009. The tournament is set to take place in Zurich and Lausanne, with Zurich itself being the host of the tournament four separate times. Zurich was actually one of the founding cities of the IIHF, with much of it’s day-to-day activities taking place there. For Lausanne, the city will get a brand-new, 10,000 seat arena, with the excitement of the 2020 Winter Youth Olympic Games and World Championships in the same year giving the country much to get excited about.

Once the 2015 World Championships conclude on Sunday, the focus will shift to preparing for the 2016 tournament in Moscow & St. Petersburg, Russia. Before Slovakia will have a chance to host it in 2019, Germany/France and Denmark will host the 2017 and 2018 tournaments respectively.


The IIHF also announced the official locations for 28 World Championship events in 2016. Not included, however, are the dates for the Challenge Cup of Asia, Pan-American Ice Hockey Tournament, a potential Gulf Cup Championship and other smaller events throughout the year.

2016 IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship
In Moscow & St. Petersburg, Russia, 6-22 May 2016
Groups to be announced after the gold medal game.

2016 IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship Division I Group A
In Krakow, Poland, 23-29 April 2016
Participants: Austria, Slovenia, Poland, Japan, Italy, Korea

2016 IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship Division I Group B
In Croatia, Zagreb, 17-23 April 2016
Participants: Ukraine, Great Britain, Lithuania, Croatia, Estonia, Romania

2016 IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship Division II Group A
In Jaca, Spain, 9-15 April 2016
Participants: Netherlands, Belgium, Serbia, Spain, Iceland, China

2016 IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship Division II Group B
In Mexico City, Mexico, 10-16 April 2016
Participants: Australia, New Zealand, Mexico, Bulgaria, Israel, DPR Korea

2016 IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship Division III
In Istanbul, Turkey, 31 March – 9 April 2016
Participants: South Africa, Turkey, Luxembourg, Hong Kong, Georgia, United Arab Emirates, Bosnia & Herzegovina

Follow me on twitter, @StevenEllisNHL.

14 Responses

  1. play bandarq

    Hello there, just became alert to your blog through Google, and found
    that it’s truly informative. I am gonna watch out for brussels.
    I’ll appreciate if you continue this in future. Many people will be benefited from your writing.

  2. bandar poker online

    My spouse and I stumbled over here coming from a different web
    address and thought I might check things out. I like what I see so
    now i am following you. Look forward to looking over
    your web page for a second time.

  3. game qiu qiu online

    We stumbled over here coming from a different web page and thought
    I might as well check things out. I like what I see so
    now i am following you. Look forward to checking out your web page yet again.

  4. poker online free

    Hi, Neat post. There’s an issue with your site in internet explorer, might check this…
    IE still is the market chief and a large component of other folks will miss your magnificent writing because of this problem.

  5. mango capsa susun

    Hello, i read your blog from time to time and i own a similar one and i was just wondering if you get a lot of spam responses?
    If so how do you reduce it, any plugin or anything you can recommend?
    I get so much lately it’s driving me insane so any support is very much appreciated.

  6. domino qiu qiu versi terbaru

    This design is incredible! You most certainly know how to keep a reader entertained.
    Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog
    (well, almost…HaHa!) Excellent job. I really loved what you had to say, and more
    than that, how you presented it. Too cool!

  7. bandar poker bonus terbesar

    Appreciating the dedication you put into your blog
    and detailed information you offer. It’s nice to come across a
    blog every once in a while that isn’t the same unwanted rehashed
    information. Excellent read! I’ve bookmarked your
    site and I’m including your RSS feeds to my Google account.

  8. cara bermain poker online

    Wow, fantastic blog format! How lengthy have you been running a blog for?
    you made running a blog glance easy. The entire glance of your site is great, let alone the content![X-N-E-W-L-I-N-S-P-I-N-X]I simply couldn’t
    leave your website before suggesting that
    I actually enjoyed the standard information an individual provide on your guests?
    Is going to be back often to check up on new posts.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.