The second annual Pan-American Ice Hockey Tournament will feature six teams this year, one more from last year’s inaugural event.

The low level tournament, which features teams in both North America and South America, will see two teams from Mexico, two teams from Argentina, Colombia and Brazil battle it out for the gold medal in Mexico. Last year, Argentina, Colombia, Canada, Mexico and Brazil all took part in the competition, with a team of Canadian selects eventually taking home the gold easily thanks to a 7-0 victory over Mexico in the finals.

This year, however, there will not be a Canadian team taking part in 2015. With the way Canada dominated the tournament last year, it makes sense for them not to show back up again this year. Instead, a second Argentian team, as well as a junior team from Mexico, will fill the remaining two spots. Canada, Chile, Ecuador, Morocco, USA and Venezuela were all invited to take part, but decided to sit out the tournament instead.

Mexico will be hosting two major international tournaments next year, with both the Division IIB World Championships and Division III U20 World Juniors taking place in Mexico City.

The second annual Pan-American Ice Hockey Tournament is set to take place from June 3rd-7th in Mexico City.

Follow me on twitter, @StevenEllisNHL.

About The Author

Steven took a different route towards his hockey interests. Starting out as a big Habs fan, he started to gravitate towards the more obscure levels of hockey, such as the low level tournaments in Asia, strange club matches between teams most people in North America can’t pronounce, and even some 3am contests between Bulgaria and New Zealand. Aside from his love for strange hockey events, Steven occasionally acts as a mediocre ball hockey goalie following a failed attempt at making it to the NHL as a fourth line house league grinder. Beyond hockey, Steven is an avid racing fan and loves to chat about NASCAR, F1, Indycar, you name it. Oh, and don’t get him started on music. That is, unless you want the whole history of metal and a guitar lesson. Currently, Steven is a credentialed media member with the Mississauga Steelheads of the OHL, as well as with the Oakville Blades of the OJHL. Steven has also hosted the television show "The Hockey House" on TVCogeco in Ontario, as well as a segment under the same with on LeafsTV in Toronto. Home page:

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.