Dynamo Moscow, the KHL squad that Alex Ovechkin and Nicklas Backstrom both played for during the NHL lockout, defeated Traktor Chelyabinsk 3-2 in overtime to secure a championship win in game 6 of the Gagarin Cup finals, taking the hardware home for the second straight year.

Dynamo Moscow was easily the top team during the playoffs, defeating Slovan Bratislava in four games, CSKA Moscow in five, SKA St. Petersburg six and of course, Traktor Chelyabinsk in six.

The team was founded in 1946 and belonged to the Dynamo Moscow sports club. They won their first Soviet hockey championship in 1946–47, beating Spartak Moscow in the finals. Coached by Arkady Chernyshev during the first decades of their history Dynamo established themselves as one one of the top teams of the Soviet hockey league. Throughout the Soviet era, Dynamo was among the top 3 teams almost every season winning five championships and three USSR Cups. The last few years of the Soviet hockey championship and the beginning of the IHL period were marked with Dynamo winning fours seasons in a row and ending CSKA Moscow dominance that lasted for decades. In total, the squad has won 25 Russian hockey championships over the years.

The club finished with a 36-14-2 record in 52 matches this season.

Follow me on twitter, @StevenEllisNHL.

About The Author

Steven took a different route towards his hockey interests. Starting out as a big Habs fan, he started to gravitate towards the more obscure levels of hockey, such as the low level tournaments in Asia, strange club matches between teams most people in North America can’t pronounce, and even some 3am contests between Bulgaria and New Zealand. Aside from his love for strange hockey events, Steven occasionally acts as a mediocre ball hockey goalie following a failed attempt at making it to the NHL as a fourth line house league grinder. Beyond hockey, Steven is an avid racing fan and loves to chat about NASCAR, F1, Indycar, you name it. Oh, and don’t get him started on music. That is, unless you want the whole history of metal and a guitar lesson. Currently, Steven is a credentialed media member with the Mississauga Steelheads of the OHL, as well as with the Oakville Blades of the OJHL. Steven has also hosted the television show "The Hockey House" on TVCogeco in Ontario, as well as a segment under the same with on LeafsTV in Toronto. Home page: http://www.thehockeyhouse.net

Related Posts

One Response

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.