_dsc1972_1024_thumbThe IIHF have announced the Challenge Cup of Asia tournament details for 2015, with the top division being hosted by the defending champions from Chinese Taipei.

The Challenge Cup of Asia is an annual tournament that serves to help teams that either lack the funding or skill to move up to the World Championships stage. Taipei has been the best team to ever compete in the tournament, winning it four out of the seven total times the top division has been played.

The dominant hosts will be holding the tournament in Taipei City, with the tournament running from March 14-19, 2015.The United Arab Emirates, Mongolia, Thailand and recently promoted Macau will serve as the remaining four entries into the top group. Hong Kong, however, has not entered into the CCoA, which could mean they are putting their full focus into the World Championships.

A month later, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Singapore, India, Malaysia, Qatar and Oman will take to the ice in a battle to see who will be promoted into the top group for the 2016 tournament. Hosted in Kuwait City, the same country that hosted the most recent Gulf Cup Ice Hockey Championships, fans will be treated to the first official IIHF viewings of Oman and Qatar, two of the newest hockey nations to compete at such a level. Both teams took to the ice at the Gulf Cup earlier this year, but neither would end up successful as UAE managed to win it for the third straight time.

Taipei City will also host the 2015 Women’s Challenge Cup of Asia, as well as the U18 Division III World Championships in late March.

About The Author

Steven took a different route towards his hockey interests. Starting out as a big Habs fan, he started to gravitate towards the more obscure levels of hockey, such as the low level tournaments in Asia, strange club matches between teams most people in North America can’t pronounce, and even some 3am contests between Bulgaria and New Zealand. Aside from his love for strange hockey events, Steven occasionally acts as a mediocre ball hockey goalie following a failed attempt at making it to the NHL as a fourth line house league grinder. Beyond hockey, Steven is an avid racing fan and loves to chat about NASCAR, F1, Indycar, you name it. Oh, and don’t get him started on music. That is, unless you want the whole history of metal and a guitar lesson. Currently, Steven is a credentialed media member with the Mississauga Steelheads of the OHL, as well as with the Oakville Blades of the OJHL. Steven has also hosted the television show "The Hockey House" on TVCogeco in Ontario, as well as a segment under the same with on LeafsTV in Toronto. Home page: http://www.thehockeyhouse.net

Related Posts

One Response

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.