For the first time since the 2011 Division II World Championships, Australia are hockey champions.

A 6-2 victory over their rivals from New Zealand proved to be the winning factor for the Aussies, who won in their first year back in Division IIB after getting relegated from IIA in 2015. The team was led by Wehebe Darge, who scored a remarkable 11 goals and 24 points in just five games, easily winning the top forward award at the end of the tournament.

Australia finished the five game event with 58 goals for and 10 against, good enough to win every single game in the tournament. The early afternoon game came before Mexico, who were still eligible for gold heading into the day, was set to play North Korea, who won the bronze medal after just getting promoted from the lowest World Championship division a year prior.

With the win, Australia will replace China in Division IIA next year after a winless result for the Chinese.

Follow me on twitter, @StevenEllisNHL.

2 Responses

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.