Just a few weeks after the Finnish national Inline team were crowned champions on the biggest stage, four more teams will compete for a chance to be promoted to the second tier in a qualification tournament taking place from July 4th-6th.

The teams competing in this year’s European edition will be Macedonia, Serbia, Israel and Bulgaria. Last year, Latvia qualified thanks to a 35-1 demolition of Macedonia and a 13-0 shutout over Ireland to convincingly move on. Macedonia is the only team making a return to the tournament from last year, as Israel and Serbia are still fairly new to the roller game.

Back in 2011, Bulgaria gained promotion to the 2012 Division I tournament after winning both of their games against Macedonia and Turkey. They repeated their success the following year and are expected to make it three in just a week’s time.

Follow me on twitter, @StevenEllisNHL.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.